Few months ago, Yana and I bought a book called, Thirty Things Every Woman Should Have and Should Know by Time She’s 30 by the edition of Glamourand Pamela Redmond Satran and it’s just now that i had finally time to read.

I have passed my 30th birthday but don’t be afraid if you’ve passed it, can still read and check if you have everything you need and know.

Thirty things

I’ve listed here my comments for the the Thirty Things I Should have and Should Know

By 30, you should have…

1. One old boyfriend you can imagine going back to and one who reminds you of how far you’ve come.
Nope. Haven’t had any boyfriend in my 33 years of existence.

2. A decent piece of furniture not previously owned by anyone else in your family.
Got one! That’s my mesa – work table.

3. Something perfect to wear if the employer or man of your dreams wants to see you in an hour.
I have no plans going back to being employed in the near future. Hoping to be successful in my chosen path.

4. A purse, a suitcase, and an umbrella you’re not ashamed to be seen carrying.
I’m not a purse and suitcase person but I’m walking in the rain with style c/o my mother.

5. A youth you’re content to move beyond.
Thinking….

What 30 means to me…

6. A past juicy enough that you are looking forward to retelling it in your old age.
Next…

7. The realization that you are actually going to have an old age-and some money set aside help fund it.
I have realized that but as to the fund, I’m still working on it.

8. An email address, a voicemail mailbox, and a bank account – all of which nobody has access to but you.
Yes except for that voice mailbox. I don’t think this is necessary for me.

9. A resume that is not even the slightest bit padded.
Nope, I don’t do that.

10. One friend who always makes you laugh and one who always lets you cry.
One friend who makes me laugh 🙂

11. A set of screwdrivers, a cordless drill and a black lace bra.
No screwdrivers nor drill but I do have my a miter box, metal smoothing plane, saw and a G clamp and a black lace bra too.

12. Something ridiculously expensive that you bought for yourself, just because you deserve it.
I’m not into material things but I know, I should reward myself often.

13. The belief that you deserve it.

14. A skin-care regimen, an exercise routine, and a plan for dealing with those few other facets of life that don’t get better after 30.
I should have one but to this date, I only use facial scrub.

15. A solid start on satisfying career, a satisfying relationship, and all those other facets of life that do get better.

By 30, you should know…

16. How to fall in love without losing yourself.
I don’t think I have mastered this falling in love without losing myself.

17. How do you fell about having kids.
Having a kid is a great responsibility. It’s not only that you provide financially, love and care but you need to nurture them so that they may be able to realize their full potential when they grow into adults.

18. How to quit a job, break up with a man, and confront a friend without ruining the friendship.
Quite a job, check!
Confront a friend – if only I can turn back time, I would hope to have confronted a friend without ruining our friendship. Done this twice or maybe thrice and I suck, big time!

19. When to try and when to walk away.

20. How to kiss in a way that communicates perfectly what you would and wouldn’t like to happen next.

What 30 means to me…

21. The names of the secretary of state, your great-grandmothers, and the best tailor in town.

22. How to live alone, even if you don’t like to.
Scared to sleep in a house alone.

23. Where to go-to be it your best friend’s kitchen table or a yoga mat-when your soul needs soothing.
When my soul needs comforting, I light up a candle or sleep.

24. That you can’t change the length of your legs, the width of your hips, or the nature of your parents.
Fully aware of how I look and I have accepted my 4’10” height and my 1** weight. Yes, I am aware and I do embrace myself for that. For the nature of my parents, I know I can’t and I am constantly reminding myself about that.

25. That your childhood may not have been perfect, but it’s over.
That I was bullied by some classmates in school because of my complexion.

26. What you would and wouldn’t do for money or love.
That I won’t get married just for money and won’t do anything which will harm others just to achieve my dreams.

27. That nobody gets away with smoking, drinking, doing drugs, or not flossing for very long.
Yes!

What 30 means to me…

28. Who you can trust, who you can’t and why you shouldn’t take it personally.

29. Not to apologize for something that isn’t your fault.
I’m still struggling not apologize.

30. Why they say life begins at 30!

